Is buying links / Selling links a problem?

Basics of search engine optimization,what is the need of SEO,their advantages in marketing and more

Moderators: ushakumarik, DeviSri

siteadmin
Site Admin

Is buying links / Selling links a problem?

Post by siteadmin »

We at Search Engine Genie have always stayed away from buying / selling links. We feel its against google's quality guildelines and it will get our client sites or our own sites penalized?

So what do you people think?

I read some interesting experiences here
"Here's my story. Draw your own conclusions. My site was between PR4 and PR6 for the last few years. All of a sudden, a few months ago, all my pages went to PR0 overnight. This is a site that's been online for about 9 years. This is a site that was ranked #1 for its prime keyword phrase for 3 years and has been top ten for 5 years.
After much research, I've come to the conclusion that my site was penalized for selling links. I had been doing this for a few years and I don't do anything else that contravenes their guidelines, so I'm certain that this is the reason.

As of today, PR is still 0. I've filed a reconsideration request with Google and am waiting to hear back. There is no grey area in Google's guidelines about this. The following was taken directly from Google's webmaster guidelines. It leaves little room for doubt that they are serious:
"However, some SEOs and webmasters engage in the practice of buying and selling links that pass PageRank, disregarding the quality of the links, the sources, and the long-term impact it will have on their sites. Buying or selling links that pass PageRank is in violation of Google's webmaster guidelines and can negatively impact a site's ranking in search results."